INSPIRE Community Forum

Geonetwork 3.4 and THREDDS/ERDDAP server

• Public

Geonetwork 3.4 and THREDDS/ERDDAP server

Started by Nicolas de Ville de Goyet Replies (7)

Hello Everyone,

I'm studying the combination of an ERDDAP server with a GeoNetwork as an INSPIRE-compliant system for storing and providing binary format datasets (e.g. NetCDF) .

My problem is that ERDDAP (as well as THREDDS) make uses of the gmi:MI_Metadata format ( ISO19115-2 ) which is not recognized by Geonetwork (it is possible to import Metadata files but they can't be visualised). Furthermore it seems that ISO19115-2 is not accepted as INSPIRE-compliant.

I see that in the version 3.4 of Geonetwork, there is an option for converting gmi to gmd but it only works on a local directory harvesting. My objective is to harvest from the WAF available on the ERDDAP server. So I have two questions:

- Do you know a technical solution for a proper harvesting of the ERDDAP Metadata into Geonetwork? Is there like a plug-in for Geonetwork to read gmi or is it mandatory to convert to gmd? What about the loss of information then?

- Is the use of the ISO19115-2 INSPIRE-compliant, and if not, is there a chance that it will be accepted in the future or is it a standard that has been definitely abandoned for INSPIRE?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Nicolas

Replies

• Public

By Francois PRUNAYRE
    Hello Nicolas,

Here is some ideas on GeoNetwork side:

* option 1 : Improve gmi2gmd conversion which is currently pretty basic (with loss of information)